Australia v India ODI series: TV channels, schedule, teams news - All you need to know

The Cricketer provides the who, what, where, when, why, which channel and how wet it will be as India return to international action...


What is it?

India return to action and kick-off their tour of Australia with three one-day internationals.

What’s the schedule?

FIRST ODI: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (Friday, November 27, 3:40am GMT, 2:40pm local time)

SECOND ODI: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (Sunday, November 29, 3:40am GMT, 2:40pm local time)

THIRD ODI: Manuka Oval, Canberra (Wednesday, December 2, 3:40am GMT, 2:40pm local time)

India tour of Australia: Fixtures

What are Australia's chances?

Though Justin Langer's side were fortunate enough to face England in six white-ball matches, this series represents their first home matches since the virus hit.

With several senior players involved in the Indian Premier League and a long winter ahead, they have opted to use the limited-overs leg of India's tour to experiment.

Moises Henriques hasn't played for his country for three years but has earned a recall, while there is also a place for Cameron Green as Mitchell Marsh attempts to recapture full fitness.

Green will a fascinating watch. He has enjoyed a fine start to the Sheffield Shield for Western Australia, scoring two centuries and could be handed an early opportunity to impress. Greg Chappell has already compared him to Ricky Ponting, adding to the attention.

With several players being forced to quarantine since returning from the United Arab Emirates, and the ODIs clearly being third in the list of priorities, it could yet be an experimental period for Australia in this format.

Finch's side got the better of world champions England in September but have left out a host of players from that trip. Nathan Lyon and Riley Meredith both miss out, while Josh Philippe has only been called up for training. Andrew Tye has since replaced Kane Richardson.

The SCG and Manuka Oval will be at 50 per cent capacity for the ODIs and T20s, with all available tickets having been snapped up by fans eager to see these two sides face-off.


Cameron Green has been rewarded for a fine season with a call-up

And while these 50-over matches are merely the appetisers for the rest of the summer, the presence of supporters will punctuate the clashes with some texture.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

India tour of Australia: India squads

What about India?

While India have not played since their first ODI against South Africa was abandoned in March, their star names returned to action in the IPL.

Rohit Sharma is missing for the white-ball matches but will return for the Test series. But otherwise, the tourists are largely at full strength for the matches.

The group includes two members of the victorious Mumbai Indians squad which romped to the IPL title. Hardik Pandya was a constant threat in the middle order as a finisher with the bat, while Jasprit Bumrah was typically a menace with the ball upfront and at the death.

There were other star performers who will hope to take their form to Australia. Shikhar Dhawan was the highest run-scorer, KL Rahul made the best individual knock, Yuzvendra Chahal was the leading spinner and Mohammad Shami took as many wickets as Jofra Archer.

Inevitably, perhaps because his involvement could be fleeting, eyes will be fixed on Virat Kohli who is only scheduled to play one of the four Tests later in the summer. With eight centuries and eight fifties in 38 innings in Australia, he, as ever, represents the key scalp.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur.


KL Rahul is among those in India's squad who enjoyed an impressive IPL

How can I follow it?

In the UK, BT Sport 1 and 2 will show the entire series with their coverage getting underway in the early hours.

Viewers in India can access pictures via the Sony Ten 1, while Sony Ten 3 will have commentary in Hindi. Tamil and Telugu commentary can be accessed via Sony Six.

Other fans across the sub-continent will need to subscribe to the SongLIV streaming service to watch the series.

Fox Sports have the rights to the matches in Australia while they can also be streamed live via Kayo

The Supersport network will show Australia v India in South Africa, while those interested in the United States will have to tune into Willow TV.

In New Zealand, Sky Sport 2 are showing all three ODIs.

BBC Radio Five Live Sports Extra will have live commentary of all three games.




STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!


Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.