Pakistan Super League 2020, Playoffs: All you need to know

The PSL returns for its conclusion following its coronavirus-enforced break, and The Cricketer has all the information you need to know


What is it?

The final stages of the fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League.

Where is it?

The matches have been moved from the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore to the National Stadium in Karachi following a deterioration of air quality in Lahore, which has been caused by an early onset of air pollution and is expected to deepen in November.

When is it?

The four matches will take place in mid-November:

November 14: Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings – Qualifier (3pm PKT, 10am GMT)

November 14: Lahore Qalandars v Peshawar Zalmi – Eliminator (8pm PKT, 3pm GMT)

November 15: Loser of Qualifier v Winner of Eliminator (8pm PKT, 3pm GMT)

November 17: Final (8pm PKT, 3pm GMT)

Why are we at this point?

The Pakistan Super League, being played wholly in Pakistan for the first time, was in full swing when the coronavirus pandemic forced its postponement in March. Therefore, the playoffs had to be rescheduled.


Multan Sultans topped the round-robin phase

Which teams are involved?

Multan Sultans topped the initial league table, followed by Karachi Kings. The winner of their qualifier will go straight through to the final.

The loser, courtesy of finishing in the top two, will get another go at qualifying for the final, facing the winner of the eliminator match between Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi, who finished third and fourth respectively.

Who are the overseas players?

Several squad changes have been made ahead of the playoffs, with multiple players unavailable – several due to international commitments.

South Africans Faf du Plessis and Hardus Viljoen are both joining Peshawar, replacing Kieron Pollard and England allrounder Liam Dawson, who is injured. Khurram Shahzad takes the place of Amir Khan.

For Karachi Kings, Sherfane Rutherford replaces England seamer Chris Jordan, with Waqas Maqsood in for Ali Khan.

Chris Lynn’s absence for Lahore Qalandars has opened the door for Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal, with Abid Ali replacing Salman Butt and Agha Salman taking over from Sri Lankan leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna.

Multan Sultans have brought in Mahmudullah for Moeen Ali, while Yorkshire opener Adam Lyth replaces Fabian Allen.

Overall, 21 overseas players will take part, with du Plessis one of seven South Africans. Alex Hales and James Vince lead six England players, with four West Indians, two Bangladeshis and one player each from Australia and New Zealand also featuring.


Karachi Kings will face Multan Sultans in the qualifier

Karachi Kings: Aamir Yamin, Alex Hales (England), Arshad Iqbal, Awais Zia, Babar Azam, Cameron Delport (South Africa), Chadwick Walton (West Indies), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mitchel McClenaghan (New Zealand), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Sharjeel Khan, Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Umaid Asif, Umer Khan,Usama Mir and Waqas Maqsood 

Lahore Qalandars: Abid Ali, Agha Salman, Ben Dunk (Australia), Dane Vilas (South Africa), David Wiese (South Africa), Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Farzan Raja, Haris Rauf, Jaahid Ali, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Samit Patel (England), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Akhtar, Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) and Usman Shinwari 

Multan Sultans: Adam Lyth (England), Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Imran Tahir (South Africa), James Vince (England), Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mahmudullah (Bangladesh), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara (England), Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Rohail Nazir, Shaan Masood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Zeeshan Ashraf

Peshawar Zalmi: Aamir Ali, Adil Amin, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Haider Ali Khan, Hardus Viljoen (South Africa), Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Shehzad, Liam Livingstone (England), Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah

How can I watch it?

Fans around the world will be able to follow the tournament live via Cricket Gateway, a bespoke online streaming service. A pass to watch all 34 games live – plus highlights and full replays – can be picked up for US$19.99 (approximately £15, A$30, INR 1430).

Additionally, viewers in Pakistan will be able to watch games live via the BSports YouTube channel and the Jazz TV, Tapmad and streaming services.

Certain markets will also find the tournaments airing on local sports channels. In Australia, for example, the tournament will be live on the beIN Sports network, and UK viewers are set to find the tournament on Hum Masala (Sky 732).



STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.