Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024: All you need to know

The 50-over competition returns for its fifth season and The Cricketer has all the information you need to know


What is it?

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy is the women's regional 50-over tournament.

When is it?

The fifth season of the RHF Trophy will begin on April 20 and conclude on September 21.

The group stage will be split into three blocks, with matches taking place from April 20-May 8, June 30-July 14, and August 26-September 7, with breaks for the Charlotte Edwards Cup and The Hundred.

Which teams are involved?

There are eight regional teams: Central Sparks, Northern Diamonds, South East Stars, Southern Vipers, Sunrisers, The Blaze, Thunder, and Western Storm.


The Blaze finished second in 2023 [Harry Trump/Getty Images]

What's the format?

The group stage follows a double round robin format, with each of the eight teams playing 14 matches between April 20-September 7.

The top four teams will then advance to the knockout stages, with two semi-finals on September 14 and the final at Leicestershire's Grace Road on September 21.

Related: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy fixtures 2024

What's changed?

The RHF Trophy has only had a couple of minor changes: four teams, rather than three, will qualify for the knockout stages; there will be two semi-finals instead of the top-placed team automatically advancing to the final; and all knockout matches will have a reserve day.

What happened last year?

Southern Vipers completed the domestic double when they defeated The Blaze by five wickets in the final at Northampton. Charlotte Edwards' side have now won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy three times in four years.

South East Stars occupied third place, losing by eight wickets to The Blaze in the playoff, while Sunrisers were the surprise package, finishing in fourth position and winning six matches. In the previous three seasons, they hadn't won a single 50-over match.

Northern Diamonds opener Lauren Winfield-Hill topped the batting charts, with 663 runs, while Georgia Davis (Central Sparks) was the leading bowler, with 27 wickets.


Lauren Winfield-Hill and Georgia Davis topped the run-scoring and wicket-taking charts in 2023 [Paul Harding/Harry Trump/Getty Images]

What are the squads?

Central Sparks: Ellie Anderson, Em Arlott, Hannah Baker, Chloe Brewer, Ami Campbell, Georgia Davis, Poppy Davies, Bethan Ellis, Ria Fackrell, Abbey Freeborn, Katie George, Amy Jones, Eve Jones (c), Charis Pavely, Davina Perrin, Grace Potts, Courtney Webb* (Australia - from May), Issy Wong

Northern Diamonds: Hollie Armitage (c), Erin Burns* (Australia – April-July), Leah Dobson, Rebecca Duckworth, Katherine Fraser, Abi Glen, Grace Hall, Bess Heath, Sterre Kalis, Beth Langston, Katie Levick, Emma Marlow, Lizzie Scott, Rachel Slater, Phoebe Turner, Sophia Turner, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Jess Woolston

South East Stars: Maddie Blinkhorn-Jones, Alice Capsey, Kira Chathli, Priyanaz Chatterji, Claudie Cooper, Tilly Corteen-Coleman, Aylish Cranstone, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophia Dunkley, Tash Farrant, Phoebe Franklin, Dani Gregory, Chloe Hill, Emma Jones, Charlotte Lambert, Ryana MacDonald-Gay, Bethan Miles, Kalea Moore, Paige Scholfield, Bryony Smith (c), Jemima Spence, Alexa Stonehouse, Kirstie White

Southern Vipers: Georgia Adams (c), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Georgia Elwiss, Nancy Harman, Freya Kemp, Charli Knott* (Australia – April-July), Ava Lee, Ella McCaughan, Alice Monaghan, Abi Norgrove, Linsey Smith, Rhianna Southby, Megan Sturge, Charlotte Taylor, Mary Taylor, Finty Trussler, Emily Windsor, Danni Wyatt

Sunrisers: Amara Carr, Kelly Castle, Kate Coppack, Ariana Dowse, Jo Gardner, Eva Gray, Jodi Grewcock, Cordelia Griffith, Nicola Hancock* (Australia – April-May, six matches), Esmae MacGregor, Lissy Macleod, Abtaha Maqsood, Flo Miller, Jess Olorenshaw, Charley Phillips, Grace Scrivens (c), Katherine Speed, Amu Surenkumar, Dane van Niekerk* (South Africa - from May 19), Mady Villiers

The Blaze: Grace Ballinger, Tammy Beaumont, Georgie Boyce, Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Ella Claridge, Nadine de Klerk* (South Africa – April-May, August-September), Sarah Glenn, Kirstie Gordon (c), Heather Graham* (Australia - June-July), Teresa Graves, Josie Groves, Beth Harmer, Lucy Higham, Scarlett Hughes, Marie Kelly, Michael Kirk, Cassidy McCarthy, Sophie Munro, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Daisy Mullan (Thunder, short-term loan - April-May)

Thunder: Olivia Bell, Alice Clarke, Danni Collins, Kate Cross, Naomi Dattani, Sophie Ecclestone, Mahika Gaur, Phoebe Graham, Liberty Heap, Laura Jackson, Hannah Jones, Emma Lamb, Ailsa Lister, Katie Mack* (Australia - April-May, August-September), Fi Morris, Sophie Morris, Daisy Mullan, Tara Norris, Shachi Pai, Hannah Rainey, Seren Smale, Ellie Threlkeld (c), Georgia Voll* (Australia - June-July)

Western Storm: Imogen Cooper, Emma Corney, Lauren Filer, Dani Gibson, Alex Griffiths, Lola Harris, Nicole Harvey, Niamh Holland, Katie Jones, Heather Knight, Sophie Luff (c), Claire Nicholas, Isobel Patel, Mollie Robbins, Robecca Rodgers, Chloe Skelton, Sophia Smale, Isla Thompson, Amanda-Jade Wellington* (Australia - April-September), Fran Wilson, Nat Wraith


How can I follow it?

Regions stream their games on their respective websites and YouTube channels.

The Cricketer will carry match reports from every day of regional cricket in 2024, with our staff in place to offer expert analysis at county grounds throughout the season.

Join The Cricketer's brand new Whatsapp channel for the latest breaking news, comment and features - click here to become a member


Women's Regional Hub

- Home

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy

- Home

- Fixtures

- Results

- Table

- Averages

Charlotte Edwards Cup

- Home

- Fixtures

- Results

- Table

- Averages



STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Units 7-8, 35-37 High St, Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough, LE128PY


Welcome to www.thecricketer.com - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.