New format for Women's Big Bash League finals revealed

The group winners at the end of the 56-game regular season will progress straight to the final with an Eliminator and a Challenger replacing the semi-finals


The Women's Big Bash League will see a revised knock-out format for its seventh edition scheduled to start next month.

A place in the final is now up for grabs for the team that finishes top of the group following the 56-game regular season.

Sides ranked third and fourth will face-off in The Eliminator with the winner taking on the second-place side from the group for a place in the final.

The WBBL is due to kick-off in Sydney on October 14, however Covid-19 travel rules may still affect the fixture list.

Currently, movement out of New South Wales and Victoria is restricted. India's tour of Australia, which starts on September 19, has already been shifted entirely to Queensland as a result.

WBBL 07 SQUADS: All player lists for Women's Big Bash 2021

"We are committed to ensuring cricket remains a leading sport for women and girls by holding a full, safe and successful Weber WBBL|07 season," Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson said.

"We learnt many lessons from staging full WBBL and BBL seasons last summer and are confident of another safe and successful summer ahead.

"We’ll continue to work with our clubs, state and territory governments, health authorities and broadcasters in the lead up to the Weber WBBL|07 season, which remains on track to begin on October 14."





Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.