Replacements announced ahead of delayed PSL finals

Former South Africa captain Faf Du Plessis is among the new signings; he will represent Peshawar Zalmi after replacing Kieron Pollard, who will be in New Zealand with his West Indies side


Former South Africa captain Faf du Plessis is among the players who have been called in as replacements ahead of the final stages of the Pakistan Super League.

The competition, which ground to a halt as the coronavirus pandemic broke out in March, is due to come to a conclusion in Karachi between November 14 and November 17.

Du Plessis, 36, has been playing in the Indian Premier League for Chennai Super Kings and will represent Peshawar Zalmi. He replaces Kieron Pollard, who will be in New Zealand with his West Indies side.

Fellow South African Hardus Viljoen is also joining Peshawar, replacing England allrounder Liam Dawson, who is injured. Khurram Shahzad takes the place of Amir Khan.

For Karachi Kings, Sherfane Rutherford replaces England seamer Chris Jordan, with Waqas Maqsood in for Ali Khan.

Chris Lynn’s absence for Lahore Qalandars has opened the door for Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal to join Lahore Qalandars, with Abid Ali replacing Salman Butt and Agha Salman taking over from Sri Lankan leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna.

Multan Sultans have brought in Mahmudullah for Moeen Ali, while Yorkshire opener Adam Lyth replaces Fabian Allen.

Overall, 21 overseas players will take part, with du Plessis one of seven South Africans. Alex Hales and James Vince lead six England players, with four West Indians, two Bangladeshis and one player each from Australia and New Zealand also featuring.

Come the draft for next year’s tournament, teams will not have any right to retain players signed as replacements for these final matches.

The games will bring to a close the first edition of the Pakistan Super League to be played entirely in Pakistan; it began on February 20 but was suspended on March 17.


Moeen Ali has been replaced by Bangladesh allrounder Mahmudullah

PSL finals squads

Karachi Kings: Aamir Yamin, Alex Hales (England), Arshad Iqbal, Awais Zia, Babar Azam, Cameron Delport (South Africa), Chadwick Walton (West Indies), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mitchel McClenaghan (New Zealand), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Sharjeel Khan, Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Umaid Asif, Umer Khan,Usama Mir and Waqas Maqsood 

Lahore Qalandars: Abid Ali, Agha Salman, Ben Dunk (Australia), Dane Vilas (South Africa), David Wiese (South Africa), Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Farzan Raja, Haris Rauf, Jaahid Ali, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Samit Patel (England), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohail Akhtar, Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) and Usman Shinwari 

Multan Sultans: Adam Lyth (England), Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Imran Tahir (South Africa), James Vince (England), Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mahmudullah (Bangladesh), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Ravi Bopara (England), Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Rohail Nazir, Shaan Masood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Zeeshan Ashraf

Peshawar Zalmi: Aamir Ali, Adil Amin, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Haider Ali Khan, Hardus Viljoen (South Africa), Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Shehzad, Liam Livingstone (England), Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah



STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.