The Cricketer Schools Guide 2019

“This is a superb publication that serves both as an informative guide and as a tribute to all those teachers and coaches out there who are nurturing the talents of future club, county and international cricketers."


Click here to submit your application to The Cricketer Schools Guide 2020

The UK's best cricketing schools have been revealed by The Cricketer Magazine.

At the end of a long and exhaustive selection process, which saw more than 350 academic institutions submit applications to be part of The Cricketer Schools Guide, the top 100 secondary schools and the 50 leading prep and junior schools have been named.

Each entry was judged against an extensive selection criteria, including the quality of facilities, commitment to cricket in their curriculum, and the breadth of fixture programmes.

The prestigious list includes schools across the country, from Shrewsbury to Sevenoaks, and from Macclesfield to Millfield.

Bede’s School; Bedford School; Bishop’s Stortford College; Blundell’s School; Bradfield College; Brentwood School; Brighton College; Bromsgrove School; Burford School; Charterhouse; Cheltenham College; Clayesmore; Clifton College; Cranleigh School; Dollar Academy; Dr Challoner’s Grammar School; Dulwich College; Durham School; Eastbourne College; Elizabeth College; Ellesmere College; Emanuel School; Epsom College; Eton College; Felsted School; Fettes College; Forest School; Framlingham College; Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School; Haileybury; Hampton School; Harrow School; Hurstpierpoint College; Kimbolton School; King’s College School; King’s College, Taunton; Lancaster Royal Grammar School; Lancing College; Leicester Grammar School; Lord Wandsworth College; Magdalen College School, Oxford; Malvern College; Marlborough College; Merchant Taylors’ School, Northwood; Merchiston Castle School; Millfield; Myerscough College; New Hall School; Norwich School; Oakham School; Ormskirk School; Oundle School; Queen Mary’s Grammar School; Queen’s College, Taunton; Radley College; Reed’s School; Reigate Grammar School; Repton School; Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe; Rugby School; Sedbergh School; Sevenoaks School; SGS College; Shenfield High School; Sherborne School; Shiplake College; Shrewsbury School; Simon Langton Grammar School; St Dunstan’s College; St John’s School, Leatherhead; St Paul’s School; St Peter’s School, York; Stamford School; Stewart’s Melville College; Stowe School; Sutton Valence School; Taunton School; The Judd School; The King’s School, Canterbury; The King’s School in Macclesfield; The Leys School; The Manchester Grammar School; The Oratory School; The Royal Grammar School, Guildford; The Royal Hospital School; Tonbridge School; Trent College; Trinity School; Uppingham School; Warwick School; Watford Grammar School; Wellingborough School; Wellington College; Wellington School; Whitgift School; Wilson’s School; Winchester College; Woodhouse Grove School; Worksop College; Worth School 

Each of the finalists are reviewed in detail in a bumper 116-page supplement, which will be published with the December edition of The Cricketer.  

Editor Simon Hughes said: "This is a superb publication that serves both as an informative guide and as a tribute to all those teachers and coaches out there who are nurturing the talents of future club, county and international cricketers.

"I have been lucky enough to visit a number of school matches this summer, and am pleased to note that the standard of cricket, coaching facilities and enthusiasm for the game has been as high as I can recall.
"The competition to be included was fierce and plans are already in place to provide more in-depth coverage of schools’ cricket next summer.

Abberley Hall; Abingdon Prep School; Barfield School; Beaudesert Park School; Bede’s Prep School; Belhaven Hill School; Blundell’s Prep School; Caldicott School; Cheam School; Clifton College Prep; Cranmore School; Cricklade Manor Prep; Cumnor House School, Croydon; Dorset House; Dragon School; Elstree School; Foremarke Hall; Horris Hill; Hurlingham School; Lambrook; Ludgrove; Millfield Prep; Moulsford; Newland House School; Nottingham Academy; Orley Farm School; Packwood Haugh; Papplewick School; Parkside School; Rokeby School; Salisbury Cathedral School; Sherborne Prep; Shrewsbury House School; Spratton Hall; St Andrew’s Prep; St Faith’s School; St Hugh’s School; St John’s School, Northwood; St Mary’s, Melrose; St Olave’s, York; Summer Fields School; Taunton Prep School; The Elms School; Town Close School; Twyford School; Wellesley House School; Westbrook Hay School; Winchester House School; Witham Hall; Woodcote House School 

"Congratulations to all of the schools included and please keep up the good work."

2018 has been a notable year for schools’ cricket. Several alumni of the insitutions previously featured in The Cricketer Schools Guide have had a huge impact in the professional arena.

Sam Curran (Wellington College) was man of the series in the Tests against India, while his England team-mate, Alastair Cook (Bedford School), ended his Test career with a memorable farewell century. 

The Cricketer Schools Guide 2019 is included in the December issue of The Cricketer which is available online and via all good newsagents from November 23. 

The Cricketer would like to thank Durant Cricket for their ongoing support of our schools cricket coverage. For more on Durant Cricket, including booking a site visit, click here

Click here for subscriptions 

Click here to buy the December issue



STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.