Marcus Harris dropped from Australia Test squad as full Sri Lanka touring party is confirmed

Adam Zampa will miss the entire tour due to the upcoming birth of his first child while Pat Cummins sits out the T20I series


Australia have unveiled the full party for the multi-format tour of Sri Lanka in June and July.

The Test squad sees no place for Marcus Harris while Glenn Maxwell is overlooked despite suggesting he would be recalled. Michael Neser, currently with Glamorgan, also misses out.

A host of big names including Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Steve Smith and Matthew Wade return to the limited-overs squads after missing the white-ball games in Pakistan.

But there is no place for Test captain Pat Cummins, currently playing in the Indian Premier League with Kolkata Knight Riders, in the T20 group.

Adam Zampa will sit out the entire tour to ensure he can attend the birth of his first child. Ben McDermott, meanwhile, will remain in England with Hampshire despite impressing in Pakistan.

Jhye Richardson is only named in the T20 squad as Cricket Australia continues to manage his workload.


Pat Cummins and Adam Zampa celebrate (Francois Nel/Getty Images)

But seamer Richardson, alongside the likes of Harris, Scott Boland, Mark Steketee, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw and Peter Handscomb have been selected in an Australia A squad that will play four matches including two first-class games in Hambantota.

The tour, comprising of three T20Is, five one-day internationals and two Tests, kicks off from June 7 and represents the start of the permanent reign of head coach Andrew McDonald since he was confirmed to succeed Justin Langer.

Australia T20I squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner, Matthew Wade (wk)

Australia ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Australia A squad: Sean Abbott, Scott Boland, Peter Handscomb, Aaron Hardie, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nic Maddinson, Todd Murphy, Josh Philippe, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Mark Steketee

Related Topics





STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.