Jayden Seales, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith earn West Indies central contracts

Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Rakheem Cornwall and Shannon Gabriel are the notable absentees


Bowling duo Jayden Seales and Obed McCoy and allrounder Odean Smith have been awarded central contracts with Cricket West Indies for the first time.

Seales impressed in March’s Test series against England, taking 11 wickets at an average of 26.45 on some very flat wickets, while McCoy shone for the Rajasthan Royals in this year’s IPL. Smith, meanwhile, who made his debut in 2018 for West Indies, was more than useful in the white-ball series against India with bat and ball.

Brandon King, Rovman Powell and Romario Shepherd are also included on the 2022/23 list after missing out last year.

Recently retired Kieron Pollard, however, is absent as are Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Rakheem Cornwall and Shannon Gabriel.

"Congratulations to all the players who have been offered contracts,” said men’s lead selector Desmond Haynes. "We think this is a dynamic group, with the right mixture of experience and youthfulness to properly represent the people of the Caribbean. With general retainer contracts, it gives us a pool of talented and dedicated cricketers, who can take West indies cricket forward in years to come."


Fabian Allen is among the players to miss out on a central contract for 2022/23 [Gareth Copley/Getty Images]

In the women’s team, batter Rashada Williams and allrounders Mandy Mangru and Jannillea Glasgow have earned development contracts, which are now offered to six, not three, players.

Britney Cooper, Shenerta Grimmond, Shawnisha Hector and Qiana Joseph are those excluded from the previous cycle. Karishma Ramharack, meanwhile, returns to the fold after missing out on a contract last season.

"The selectors have placed a great focus on the young developing players because these are the ones who will help to build the team as we look towards the future," women’s lead selector Ann Browne-John explained.

"The panel believes that the combination of experienced players and the emerging players will give a good base as we continue to prepare teams for international matches and the T20 World Cup early next year."

In all, 36 players have been awarded contracts, spread across the men’s and women’s games.

Men’s contracted players: Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Joshua Da Silva, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr

Women’s contracted players: Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Mandy Mangru, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams





STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP


Welcome to www.thecricketer.com - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.