The Brisbane Heat pair pulled off a remarkable piece of fielding against Hobart Hurricanes - but was it legal?
Brisbane Heat duo Matt Renshaw and Tom Banton combined to complete a stunning piece of fielding in the Big Bash League which has sparked mass debate over its legality.
In the 15th over, Hobart Hurricanes opener Matthew Wade hammered the ball in air down long-on, towards the reach of boundary-rider Renshaw.
The Aussie batsman got two hands to the ball but his momentum appeared to be sending him over the rope.
As is the modern-day response, Renshaw threw the ball up in the air but insufficiently far enough to ensure it wouldn't land for six.
He, therefore, leaped into the air and batted the ball back into the field of play, and into the grateful hands of teammate Banton.
Third umpire and TV official Simon Lightbody initially ruled that the catch was illegitimate, giving Wade - at the time on 61 - a reprieve.
Out? 🤔
— The Cricketer (@TheCricketerMag) January 9, 2020
Not out? 🤔#BBL09pic.twitter.com/Bo7bi3pRcy
But following a long delay Lightbody reversed his decision, forcing Wade to leave the field.
He told Channel 7: "I had no idea of the rule. The umpires said he could do that so I knew it was out."
However, under new regulations introduced in 2017 the implementation of the rules was correct.
Law 19.5 states:
• First, a fielder is grounded beyond the boundary if part of that fielder’s person is in contact with another fielder who is grounded beyond the boundary and the umpires consider that it was the intention of either fielder that such contact should assist in the fielding of the ball (law 19.5.1) e.g. a fielder outside the boundary deliberately pushes a fielder otherwise inside the boundary to prevent him/her toppling over the boundary;
• Second, only fielder whose first touch of the ball is from within the boundary may field the ball (having taken off outside the boundary) whilst airborne beyond the boundary (Law 19.5.2).
👏 Amazing catch today in the @BBL!
— Lord's | Ticket Ballot now open! (@HomeOfCricket) January 9, 2020
Under Law 19.5, the catch is deemed lawful.
The key moment is when he first touches the ball, which is inside the boundary. He’s airborne for his second contact.pic.twitter.com/ZTWMjAhffT
As Renshaw was grounded and within the field of play upon first making contact with the ball and was in mid-air when he palmed it back in, the catch was deemed legal.
The Lord's Twitter account added: "The key moment is when he first touches the ball, which is inside the boundary. He’s airborne for his second contact."
Former England allrounder and Hurricanes player Dimi Mascarenhas called it a "horror decision".
Can someone please explain to me how that is out?? Horror decision for mine. @BBL @FoxCricket https://t.co/IHcYdRApu6
— Dimi Mascarenhas (@dimimascarenhas) January 9, 2020
New Zealand's Jimmy Neeshaw demanded for the regulations to be re-written to ensure players who leave the field must return.
"I’ve got no problem with where he left from," he wrote on Twitter. "It’s where he ends up. After he touches the ball he needs to end up back in the field of play.
"If that’s not the rule then the whole thing is farcical and the rule needs to change."
I’ve got no problem with where he left from. It’s where he ends up. After he touches the ball he needs to end up back in the field of play.
— Jimmy Neesham (@JimmyNeesh) January 9, 2020
If that’s not the rule then the whole thing is farcical and the rule needs to change. https://t.co/Y797AsxP5G
He added: "So I can just endlessly jump up and down on the spot over the boundary patting the ball up in the air until another fielder runs over to me then tap it to him?"
Sam Billings was among those to defend the catch, leading him to post his own version which he completed single-handedly while playing for England against a Prime Minister's XI in Australia in 2018.
Renners just save people the hassle... 😝🤣 https://t.co/bp0jKSZezi
— Sam Billings (@sambillings) January 9, 2020