Trinbago Knight Riders v St Lucia Kings: CPL 2021 match preview

Team news, latest news, odds, TV and streaming information, form, head-to-head record, prediction, weather forecast and more for the next game in the Caribbean Premier League...


What’s the match?

Trinbago Knight Riders take on St Lucia Kings in the ninth game of the 2021 Caribbean Premier League.

When is it taking place?

The match is scheduled to take place at 10am local time (3pm BST, 7.30pm IST) on Tuesday, August 31, 2021.

Full CPL 2021 fixture list: Click here

Where is the match being played?

Every game in the 2021 Caribbean Premier League is being held at Warner Park on St Kitts, in an effort to minimise the Covid-19 risk to the tournament. 

Who’s got the form?

Both sides have won once so far in this season's tournament, though St Lucia find themselves bottom of the pile as one of five teams with two points so far. They have played one game fewer than Trinbago, who have already lost twice more than in 2020 when they demolished all around them en route to winning the competition without dropping a single point.

In the experienced seam pairing Ravi Rampaul and Isuru Udana, Trinbago have the CPL's joint-leading wicket-takers.

The two teams faced one another in the return fixture only on Sunday, with St Lucia Kings recording their first victory of the campaign in a strange game that saw Trinbago fall five runs short of their 158-run target despite losing just three wickets.


Tim David was in the runs for St Lucia in the reverse fixture

Who to watch?

Trinbago's two New Zealanders both made 40 in their defeat against Andy Flower's Kings, but they were contrasting innings that had a major impact on the result: Colin Munro faced 47 balls as he struggled against St Lucia's attack, before Tim Seifert launched a late 16-ball assault that ultimately proved too little too late.

Meanwhile, St Lucia have access to one of 2021's breakthrough T20 stars: Tim David dragged Faf du Plessis' men to a winning score, having come in when his side were 69 for 4 and looking likely to fall short of challenging Kieron Pollard's reigning champions.

But the Singapore international, who has previously played in the Big Bash and as a late replacement in the T20 Blast for Surrey, made 43 off 32 balls in partnership with Roston Chase, who has continued on from a fine CPL campaign in 2020.

Head-to-head record

Matches played: 18

Trinbago Knight Riders wins: 13

St Lucia Kings wins: 3

Are fans allowed in?

Not for this one. The 10am matches at Warner Park will be played behind closed doors, with 50 per cent capacity crowds permitted inside the venue during the evening games.

What is the weather forecast?

Sunshine with intermittent spells of cloud and temperatures peaking around 30 degrees Celsius.

Click here for the Accuweather forecast.

Who are the umpires?

Onfield: Nigel Duguid, Leslie Reifer Jnr

TV umpire: Deighton Butler

Fourth umpire: Christopher Taylor

What’s the prediction?

Trinbago to maintain their historic stranglehold over St Lucia, while getting revenge for their defeat a couiple of days ago.


Kieron Pollard captains Trinbago

What are the odds?

Despite their loss in the return fixture, Trinbago are 4/6 favourites with Bet365.


Barbados Tridents

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Jamaica Tallawahs

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

St Lucia Kings

Trinbago Knight Riders

Where can I watch the game?

BT Sport have the live broadcast rights to the competition in the United Kingdom and will be showing all 33 matches on their platforms.

For UK streamers, BT Sport will have all of the action available online and on the BT Sport app. A 30-day monthly pass is available for £25, providing access to every BT channel and the app. EE customers can access every channel for a £20 per month add-on to their phone contract.

Where can I watch elsewhere in the world?

Australia: Fox Sports

New Zealand: Sky Sport NZ

India: FanCode

South Africa: SuperSport

USA: Willow TV

Middle East: Etisalat

Pan-Caribbean: SportsMax (Except Trinidad & Guyana)

Trinidad: CNC3

Barbados: CBC

St Lucia: Helen TV

Antigua & Barbuda: CNS

Guyana: E- Networks 

Grenada: GBN

What are the squads?

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Colin Munro, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Yasir Shah, Ali Khan, Tion Webster, Akeal Hoesin, Lendl Simmons, Jayden Seales, Isuru Udana, Leonardo Julien, Tim Seifert

St Lucia Kings: Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Wahab Riaz, Rakheem Cornwall, Keemo Paul, Javelle Glen, Mark Deyal, Alzarri Joseph, Jeavor Royal, Obed McCoy, Roston Chase, Faf du Plessis, Usman Qadir, Samit Patel, Keron Cottoy, Kadeem Alleyne, Tim David

Full CPL 2021 squad lists: Click here

Possible XIs

Trinbago Knight RidersLendl Simmons, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert, Denesh Ramdin, Kieron Pollard, Tion Webster, Isuru Udana, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Jayden Seales

St Lucia Kings: Rahkeem Cornwall, Andre Fletcher, Faf du Plessis, Mark Deyal, Tim David, Keemo Paul, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir, Alzarri Joseph, Jeavor Royal




STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.