Steve Smith and David Warner included in Australia's World Cup squad

But Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Turner and Peter Handscomb all omitted from the 15-man group as the Baggie Green attempt to defend their crown


Australia have recalled Steve Smith and David Warner for the defence of their World Cup crown.

The pair have not represented their country since serving bans for their role in the ball-tampering scandal in March 2018.

Both players have featured in this year's Indian Premier League but this is their first international recognition in over a year.

Captained by Aaron Finch, the 15-man squad includes six players who were victorious in 2015 on home soil.

Josh Hazlewood, Ashton Turner and Peter Handscomb are among the high-profile omissions from the squad, which can be changed up until May 23.

The trio have however been selected in the Australia A squad which will also travel to England to provide back-up to the main group.

Travis Head, D'Arcy Short and Mitch Marsh are among the second string.


Selector Trevor Hohns said: "Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15.

"Unfortunately, from the recent squad which toured India and the UAE, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner and Kane Richardson have made way for the above inclusions, but all three have been included in the Australia A squad for the tour of England.

"Josh Hazlewood has also been named in the Australia A squad. Having not played at the highest level for some time, we feel this will provide him with the best preparation to get some quality cricket under his belt.

"Our focus is to have Josh back bowling at his best for the commencement of a big Ashes Tour. (Smith and Warner are) both … world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL."

The five-time winners begin their campaign against Afghanistan on June 1 in Bristol.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa




STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!


Court House, Cleaver Street, London, SE11 4DZ

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.