Lanka Premier League given new start date of December 5 as schedule and format is confirmed

The second edition of the T20 competition will see the addition of a playoff stage, with matches split between Colombo and Hambantota


A fourth different start date for the second running of the Lanka Premier League has been confirmed by tournament organisers, who have also announced a full fixture list and a new format for the 2021 season.

The competition will now run between December 5 - a day later than previously proposed - and December 23, with a reserve day in place for the final.

A playoff phase involving the top four sides from the five-team group phase has also been introduced.

As per other major global franchise competitions, the top two will face-off in Qualifier 1, with the winner progressing directly to the final and lose heading to Qualifier 2.

They will then face the winning of the Eliminator (3rd vs 4th in the group) to complete the line-up for the final.


Jaffna Stallions won the inaugural edition in 2020

Previously, the best four sides would be placed into two semi-finals to determine the final line-up.

All 20 group matches will be played at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

The last four matches including the final will be staged at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

Jaffna Kings (renamed from Stallions after a change in ownership) will kick off the competition on day one against Galle Gladiators.

The player draft is scheduled for October 29, with Cricwire suggesting as many as 677 players from across the world have declared an interest.




STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!

Edinburgh House, 170 Kennington Lane, London, SE115DP

Welcome to - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.