The Cricketer
Will Simpson Will Simpson

Wood wins ECB central contract

Morgan promoted as England name core player groups for 2015/16

The ECB have announced Mark Wood among 11 England players to have won central contracts for 2015/16, with a further eight players awarded incremental contracts for the same period.

Nine of the players named were centrally contracted for the previous 12-month period with Wood and limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan added to the line-up following impressive displays in 2015. Fast-bowling allrounders Chris Woakes and Chris Jordan have been downgraded to the incremental squad following injury-ravaged summers and batsman Gary Ballance will join them in the second tier after a loss of form in 2015. 

Ballance's Yorkshire team-mates Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid and Jonny Bairstow join him in the eight-man incremental line-up and will look to push on over the winter with opportunities for places up for grabs.

Morgan put a disappointing World Cup behind him to lead England to an impressive one-day series victory over New Zealand followed by a 56-run win in the one-off T20. In doing so the Irishman regained his form, excelling with the bat to provide England with the momentum that helped propel them to Ashes glory later in the summer, before a tight one-day series defeat to world champions Australia.

Wood has become a key member of England’s success in all three formats of the game since his making his international debut in May. His promotion comes as no surprise with England planning for the future with doubts over James Anderson’s longevity as England’s premier strike bowler.

ECB central contracts 2015/16:

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Mark Wood (Durham)

ECB incremental contracts 2015/16:

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Liam  Plunkett  (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)