The Cricketer
The Cricketer The Cricketer


IPL teams begin to shape their squads

The lead up to IPL 2018 is hotting up as teams have unveiled which players they will retain for the upcoming edition of the tournament.

Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils - who have announced Ricky Ponting as their head coach - all retained the maximum permitted of three players.

The fees listed below are deducted from each team's overall salary cap ahead of the main auction.

The 2018 IPL auction will take place on January 27 & 28.

Retained players

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (INR 15 crore), Hardik Pandya (INR 11 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (INR 7 crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli (INR 17 crore), AB de Villiers (INR 11 crore), Sarfaraz Khan (INR 1.75 crore)

Kolkata Knight Riders

Sunil Narine (INR 8.5 crore), Andre Russell (INR 7 crore)

Delhi Daredevils

Rishabh Pant (INR 8 crore), Chris Morris (INR 7.1 crore), Shreyas Iyer (INR 7 crore)

Kings XI Punjab

Axar Patel (INR 6.75 crore)

Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner (INR 12 crore), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (INR 8.5 crore)

Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (INR 15 crore), Suresh Raina (INR 11 crore), Ravindra Jadeja (INR 7 crore)

Rajasthan Royals

Steven Smith (INR 12 crore)

MORE FROM THE CRICKETER: Archer's Hurricanes end Strikers' winning streak