The Cricketer
The Cricketer The Cricketer


Chris Gayle was left unselected by team owners... but 10 Englishmen made the cut

Ten English stars have been recruited by clubs in the Pakistan Super League ahead of the new season but Chris Gayle was left unsold at the tournament draft.

England one-day skipper Eoin Morgan, opening batsmen Jason Roy and Alex Hales, former Test captain Kevin Pietersen and Sussex’s Luke Wright were all picked up by the six franchises.

And they will be joined on the sub-continent next February by Chris Jordan, David Willey, Sam Billings, Ravi Bopara and Ross Whiteley, who all made it out of the pool of 308 foreign players.

Gayle, however, did not tickle the fancy of the team owners.

Chris Gayle will not be playing in the Pakistan Super League

The West Indies legend had only made himself available for part of the competition and, after meagre returns from his two previous appearances in Pakistan - he managed total run hauls of 103 from five innings on first attempt and 160 in nine matches on his second visit - no one wanted to part with the cash necessary to secure his services.

One owner was quotes by the Hindustan Times as saying:  “We were told that Gayle is partially available so that was one of the reasons, but even if he was available we would not have picked him because he is no more the Gayle force he once was.”

Each team had a salary cap of $1.2million to spend on players for the tournament, which has expanded for its third edition with the addition of Multan Sultans.

The likes of Kumar Sangakarra, Dwayne Bravo, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Shane Watson and Misbah-ul-Haq are all set to take part.

Multan Sultans: Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, Kumar Sangakkara, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Irfan Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Imran Tahir, Darren Bravo, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Abbas, Nic Pooran, Abdullah Shafiq, Saif Badar. 

Supplementary players: Hardus Viljoen, Umar Gul, Umar Sadique, Ross Whiteley

Peshawar Zalmi: Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shakib al Hasan, Kamran Akmal, Darren Sammy, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar, Dwayne Bravo, Tamim Iqbal, Hammad Azam, Saad Nasim, Taimoor Sultan, Sameen Gul, Ibtisam Sheikh. 

Supplementary players: Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis, Khalid Usman, Mohammad Arif

Karachi Kings: Shahid Afridi, Usman Khan, Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor, Ravi Bopara, Imad Wasim, Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Colin Ingram, Mitchell Johnson, Luke Wright, David Wiese, Tabish Khan, Mohammad Irfan Jnr., Hasan Mohsin. 

Supplementary players: Colin Munro, Eoin Morgan, Saifullah Bangash

MORE FROM THE CRICKETER: Pakistan spinner Ajmal calls it quits

Lahore Qalandars: Umar Akmal, Sunil Narine, Brendon McCullum, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Cameron Delport, Aamer Yamin, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Khan, Chris Lynn, Mustafizur Rahman, Bilal Asif, Raza Hasan, Sohail Akhtar, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Ghulam Mudassar. 

Supplementary players: Angelo Mathews, Mitchell McClenaghan, Gulraiz Sadar

Islamabad United: Mohammad Sami, Andre Russell, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Samuel Badree, Iftikhar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Asif Ali, JP Duminy, Luke Ronchi, Faheem Ashraf, Sam Billings, Zafar Gohar, Sahibzada Farhan, Hussain Talat

Supplementary players: Alex Hales, David Willey, Mohammad Hasan, Mohammad Hasnain

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Mahmudullah, Umar Amin, Mir Hamza, Asad Shafiq, Shane Watson, Carlos Brathwaite, Rahat Ali, Rameez Raja jnr, Saad Ali, Saud Shakeel, Hassan Khan

Supplementary players: Jason Roy, Rashid Khan, Azam Khan, Faraz Ahmed Khan