The Cricketer
The Cricketer The Cricketer


Shortlists announced for the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2017 in association with Vitality

England's Tammy Beaumont has been shortlisted for the Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards.

Beaumont was the tournament's leading run-scorer (410 runs at 45.55) at the Women's World Cup as England reigned supreme on home soil.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of the prestigious SWOTY Awards, which celebrate the outstanding contributions that elite athletes, coaches, community volunteers and inspirational women have made to sport. The winners – drawn from the below shortlists - will be announced on Thursday, October 26 at the awards evening in London.

The shortlist of finalists for 2017

The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year

  • Elinor Barker (track cycling)
  • Tammy Beaumont (cricket)
  • Elise Christie (short-track speed skating)
  • Johanna Konta (tennis)
  • Jodie Taylor (football)
  • Bianca Walkden (taekwondo)

The Awards, now in their 30th year, have led the way in recognising and celebrating the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite athletes, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational women.

On the evening of Thursday October 26, the Awards will take place at the Hilton London Bankside hotel.

The awards ceremony will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action and Sky Sports Mix, a channel available to all Sky TV customers (8pm to 9.30pm).

Previous winners of the coveted main award include Laura Kenny, who won in 2016, Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill, Charlotte Dujardin, Sally Gunnell, Dame Kelly Holmes, Denise Lewis, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Pendleton and Zara Tindall.