The Cricketer
The Cricketer The Cricketer


Big names return to bolster white-ball ranks

Cricket West Indies have announced that Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels are in the ODI squad for the forthcoming series against England.

Gayle has not played ODI cricket since March 2015, Samuels' last appearance coming in October 2016.

Darren Bravo and Sunil Narine have not made themselves available for selection.

A statement on the Cricket West Indies website read: “With regards to the selection of the ODI squad, the panel welcomes back Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels, who will both add value to our batting and help with the nurturing of the young batsmen in the team. Both Sunil Narine and Darren Bravo have declined to be considered for ODIs in England. Narine has however confirmed his desire to play 50-over cricket again but has asked to play in our Regional Super50 before he is considered and Darren said he was not available for selection. Dwayne Bravo said he is still not 100% fit, but is looking at a possible return to international cricket next year.”

West Indies squad

Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder*, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Kesrick Williams.


1st ODI | England v West Indies, Old Trafford

2nd ODI | England v West Indies, Trent Bridge

3rd ODI | England v West Indies, Bristol

4th ODI | England v West Indies, The Oval

5th ODI | England v West Indies, Ageas Bowl