The Cricketer

nominate your best composite ashes xi 

We want you to nominate your greatest Ashes XI between 1921-2017.

The Cricketer has been covering the Ashes since the magazine opened its doors in 1921 (just after Warwick ‘Big Ship’ Armstrong had led Australia to a whitewash the previous winter). Over the following 96 years, there have been 45 Ashes rubbers.

There have been sublime articles about Don Bradman, Douglas Jardine, Harold Larwood, Len Hutton, Jim Laker, Fred Trueman and Geoffrey Boycott. Then Ian Botham, Dennis Lillee, the Chappells, Allan Border, the Waughs, Shane Warne, Andrew Flintoff, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Strauss, Michael Clarke and Alastair Cook have appeared in the magazine’s pages. 

The greats of cricket writing – Pelham ‘Plum’ Warner (the former England captain and founding editor), EW Swanton, Neville Cardus, Christopher Martin-Jenkins and current editor Simon Hughes have ensured the deeds of these fabulous cricketers will live on into perpetuity.

The Cricketer is planning a special project to mark this winter’s Ashes series. We cannot reveal too much at the moment, except to say that we need your help for such a special project.



Scores loading ...
Loading Results ....

You can download our latest Fixtures guide as a PDF here:


Gambling is for losers, RebelBetting is
for winners. Don't be a loser, be an investor.

   Now you can play casino online for 
   free as well as bet on cricket games in 
   real time. Just visit 
   to learn all about this phenomenon.

Visit for the latest
betting offers from all the top online bookies

If you live in Britain and want to play at
first class online casinos you should check
out the guide

"Make the arena hostile for Ben Stokes"
 - Mitchell Starc