The Cricketer

which ashes series is the greatest?

The Cricketer has been covering the Ashes since the magazine opened its doors in 1921 (just after Warwick ‘Big Ship’ Armstrong had led Australia to a whitewash the previous winter). Over the following 96 years, there have been 45 Ashes rubbers.

There have been sublime articles about Don Bradman, Douglas Jardine, Harold Larwood, Len Hutton, Jim Laker, Fred Trueman and Geoffrey Boycott. Then Ian Botham, Dennis Lillee, the Chappells, Allan Border, the Waughs, Shane Warne, Andrew Flintoff, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Strauss, Michael Clarke and Alastair Cook have appeared in the magazine’s pages. 

The greats of cricket writing – Pelham ‘Plum’ Warner (the former England captain and founding editor), EW Swanton, Neville Cardus, Christopher Martin-Jenkins and current editor Simon Hughes have ensured the deeds of these fabulous cricketers will live on into perpetuity.

The Cricketer is planning a special project to mark this winter’s Ashes series. We cannot reveal too much at the moment, except to say that we need your help for such a special project.

Simply select one image, enter your details and submit your vote.



Scores loading ...
Loading Results ....

You can download our latest Fixtures guide as a PDF here: