Cricket Australia announce men's contracts for 2018-19

Alex Carey, Jhye Richardson and Marcus Stoinis among five new names to be handed national contracts


Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, James Pattinson, Matthew Wade and Adam Zampa join banned trio Cameron bancroft, Steve Smith and David Warner in missing out on Cricket Australia contracts.

Wicketkeeper batsman Alex Carey, bowlers Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, and Andrew Tye, and allrounder Marcus Stoinis are the new names on this year's list.

National Selector Trevor Hohns said the squad is a "well-balanced list to represent Australia across all three formats".

"This period is set to include a significant amount of limited-overs cricket, including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England and Wales," Hohns said in a statement.

"For that reason, there has been a bit of a focus in this contracting period on white-ball cricket, as we look ahead to trying to win back-to-back World Cups."


Tim Paine will captain the Test side

Hohns commented on the individual skills of the new recruits.

"Andrew (Tye) is an experienced bowler, who has been able to translate strong domestic performances onto the international stage in white-ball cricket," Hohns said.

"Alex (Carey) is the second wicket-keeper in this squad, alongside Tim Paine. He is a promising young player who has had a strong domestic summer and performed well in his international opportunities to date with bat and gloves.

"Kane (Richardson) has been rewarded for strong performances in the Sheffield Shield and his efforts when selected for Australia in limited-overs cricket, where he continues to impress.

"Jhye (Richardson) is a young fast bowler who has been on the fringes of selection in all three forms of the game. He’s an exciting prospect who has played ODI and T20 cricket for Australia this summer, and was in the Test squad for the recent tour of South Africa.


Jhye Richardson was named the Bradman Young Men’s Cricketer of the Year

"Marcus (Stoinis) is a player who has featured regularly for Australia in limited-overs cricket over the last 12 months, and is a player of promise who has impressed with his all-round capabilities on the international stage."

2018-19 Cricket Australia men's contracts

Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Matthew Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye.

OUT: Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

IN: Alex Carey, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye



STAY UP TO DATE Sign up to our weekly newsletter...

Thank You! Thank you for subscribing!


120 New Cavendish Street London W1W 6XX UK

Welcome to www.thecricketer.com - the online home of the world’s oldest cricket magazine. Breaking news, interviews, opinion and cricket goodness from every corner of our beautiful sport, from village green to national arena.